(A) “Marijuana has intoxicating effects and may be habit forming and addictive;”
(B) “Marijuana impairs concentration, coordination, and judgment. Do not operate a vehicle or machinery under its influence;”
(C) “There are health risks associated with consumption of marijuana”
(D) “For use only by adults twenty-one and older. Keep out of the reach of children;” and
(E) “Marijuana should not be used by women who are pregnant or breast feeding;” -3AAC.306
Here is some useful information and frequently asked questions about regulations for legal weed in Alaska.
- Just like liquor, adults 21 and over can possess, consume, and purchase products from a recreational cannabis retail store.
- All recreational products must be consumed in Alaska.
- The most you can possess at any one time is:
- One ounce (28 grams) of cannabis
- Growing your own cannabis is legal for adults 21 and over.
- You may possess up to 6 plants for personal cultivation.
- No more than 3 plants may be flowering or mature plants.
- Any plants being grown must be done privately, away from public view in a secure place
- Sharing cannabis is legal between adults – you can share…
Here are common questions about legal Alaska weed.
Where are retail stores located in Alaska?
Here’s a list of retail stores in Alaska that offer cannabis for purchase.
How old must a person be to posses legally possess in Alaska?
You must be 21 years of age, or older, to purchase weed legally in Alaska.
Should I drive or operate machinery after consuming cannabis?
- There is no “magic number” for the THC content in your blood that officially qualifies as drugged driving, as in Colorado and Washington.
- It is a crime to drive “while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, intoxicating liquor, inhalant, or any controlled substance, singly or in combination.”
- With laws so murky, it’s best to never drive after consuming marijuana, no matter how little.
If caught, you can expect the following. Penalties for a first offense include:
- A fine of up to $1,500
- No less than 72 hours of jail time
- Your license suspended for 90 days
- Mandatory ignition interlock device
Am I permitted to travel out of state with cannabis that I acquired legally while in Alaska?
Don’t even think about to bringing weed into Alaska, even from states that have legalized weed. It is transporting weed across state lines, which is a felony.